December 6, 2018

Election Night Welcomes Green Wave in Massachusetts

Last night was an exciting night for the environmental movement, both in the state of Massachusetts and across the nation. The dangerous rollbacks of environmental policy at the federal level energized green voters in record numbers. Yesterday’s results prove that Massachusetts voters see the environment as a priority, and they made their voices heard.

The re-election of Attorney General Maura Healey by an overwhelming majority is a telling statement about the priorities of Massachusetts, and the direction the nation is heading. From local to state and federal elections, a green wave rippled across the nation. In the Commonwealth, that wave included 46 ELM Action Fund endorsed candidates elected to the state legislature. The ELM Action Fund team supported these candidates with thousands of phone calls and doors knocked, as well as robust social media buys and direct mail campaigns.

The ELM Action Fund Independent Expenditure Political Action Committee (IE PAC) made significant investments in five strategic races across the state. The candidates supported by the ELM Action Fund IE PAC included Representative Joan Meschino who successfully beat back a climate denier to retain her seat in the 3rd Plymouth district, Senator Jamie Eldridge, one of our strongest state-level environmental champions, and Senator Anne Gobi, who has been a strong ally in the State House.

Another strong environmental ally Representative Natalie Higgins was successfully re-elected despite a significant challenge and will become an even stronger voice for the environment next session.

The ELM Action Fund also helped elect promising newcomers to open seats. Representative-elect David LeBoeuf won in the 17th Worcester district with a clear environmental message. Representative-elect Tami Gouveia will take the seat left vacant by the retirement of Representative Cory Atkins, continuing a strong environmental legacy for the 14th Middlesex district.

An ELM Action Fund endorsed candidate also successfully flipped the 18th Essex district, defeating a vocal opponent of environmental progress. Representative-elect Tram Nguyen overcame the odds to defeat Representative Jim Lyons, one of the lowest scoring legislators on the ELM Action Fund scorecard.

The following ELM Action Fund endorsed candidates won their general election races for state legislature:

Senator Harriette Chandler, 1st Worcester (Unopposed)
Senator Julian Cyr, Cape & Islands
Rep. Diana DiZoglio, 1st Essex
Senator Jamie Eldridge, Middlesex & Worcester
Senator Paul Feeney, Bristol & Norfolk
Barry Finegold, 2nd Essex and Middlesex
Senator Anne Gobi, Worcester, Hampden, Hampshire & Middlesex
Senator Adam Hinds, Berkshire, Hampshire, Franklin & Hampden (Unopposed)
Senator Eric Lesser, 1st Hampden & Hampshire (Unopposed)
Senator Jason Lewis, 5th Middlesex
Senator Patrick O’Connor, Plymouth and Norfolk
Senator Marc Pacheco, 1st Plymouth & Bristol (Unopposed)
Senator Bruce Tarr, 1st Essex and Middlesex (Unopposed)

Rep. Christine Barber, 34th Middlesex (Unopposed)
Daniel Carey, 2nd Hampshire
Michelle Ciccolo, 15th Middlesex (Unopposed)
Rep. Dan Cullinane, 12th Suffolk (Unopposed)
Rep. Michael Day, 31st Middlesex
Rep. Marjorie Decker, 25th Middlesex (Unopposed)
Mindy Domb, 3rd Hampshire (Unopposed)
Rep. Lori Ehrlich, 8th Essex (Unopposed)
Rep. Tricia Farley-Bouvier, 3rd Berkshire (Unopposed)
Rep. Dylan Fernandes, Barnstable, Dukes & Nantucket (Unopposed)
Rep. Sean Garballey, 23rd Middlesex (Unopposed)
Rep. Denise Garlick, 13th Norfolk (Unopposed)
Rep. Danielle Gregoire, 4th Middlesex
Tami Gouveia, 14th Middlesex
Rep. Jim Hawkins, 2nd Bristol
Rep. Stephan Hay, 3rd Worcester
Rep. Natalie Higgins, 4th Worcester
Kathy LaNatra, 12th Plymouth
David LeBoeuf, 17th Worcester
Rep. Jack Patrick Lewis, 7th Middlesex (Unopposed)
Rep. Jay Livingstone, 8th Suffolk (Unopposed)
Rep. Adrian Madaro, 1st Suffolk (Unopposed)
Rep. Liz Malia, 11th Suffolk (Unopposed)
Rep. Joan Meschino, 3rd Plymouth
Christina Minicucci, 14th Essex
Liz Miranda, 5th Suffolk
Tram Nguyen, 18th Essex
Rep. Smitty Pignatelli, 4th Berkshire (Unopposed)
Rep. Denise Provost, 27th Middlesex (Unopposed)
Maria Robinson, 6th Middlesex
Rep. Andy Vargas, 3rd Essex (Unopposed)
Tommy Vitolo, 15th Norfolk (Unopposed)

More News